Wednesday, September 2, 2009

Take a look at Japan from the eye of Geography

Japan, an island located in the eastern end of the huge continent of Asia, is small yet it has 47 prefectures, and divided into 5 geographical divisions.

From north, the divisions are; Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, Kyushu, and Okinawa. And the main island Honshu, is divided into 5 more regions; Tohoku, Chubu, Kanto, Kinki, and Chugoku. Another thing is that Japan has the word “To do fu ken.” It signify how there are, Tokyo-TO (metropolis), Hokkai-DO (circuit), Osaka-FU, Kyoto-FU (urban prefectures), and 43 kens (prefectures) in Japan. This system was introduced in 1888 and Tokyo became the center of the urban metropolis in 1943.

Being such a small island, it is said to be a little larger than California, the population of Japan is estimated to be about 127.6million. This makes sense when it is said to be one of the most densely populated countries in the world (10th place). And from here, Tokyo is said to be the most populated and then Yokohama, Osaka, Nagoya and Sapporo follows.

Trying to memorize these prefectures on the plane coming to Japan or visit them all could be a fun activity to do when visiting Japan.
Lastly, Japan yet may be small but it has many wonders and many distinctive areas to visit, taking a look at Japan through geography and learning the characteristics of the country may lure you into another interesting fact of Japan.
Great discount on top hotel deals in Tokyo, Kyoto and more! No booking fees at -

No comments:

Related Posts

Related Posts with Thumbnails